Bidmead Cup 2019/20

All 12 clubs are entered into the Bidmead Cup competition (see Rule 8.9).

In the first round there are six matches drawn at random, home teams listed first. These should be completed by 9th February. The home team should offer two dates to their opponents. If home fixtures are difficult for any club then please arrange to switch venues (home team remains the same though) or use a neutral venue.

IMPORTANT :- If a team only has two players divide the sum of the two handicaps by two to get the team handicap.

Round 1
MatchHome TeamAway Team
1 Wallingford 350 - 309 Marlborough
2 Abingdon 326 - 347 Grove
3 Moreton v Abingdon Racketlon
4 Letcombe 315 - 319 Drayton
5 RAL 331 - 285 Sutton
6 Sandford v SOFEA

Abingdon Racketlon failed to fulfil their fixture and were ejected from the competition.

MatchHome TeamAway Team
7 Drayton 334 - 354 RAL
8 Moreton v SOFEA
9 Bye v Wallingford
10 Bye v Grove

MatchHome TeamAway Team
11 RAL v Winner of 8
12 Wallingford v Grove

Home TeamAway Team
Winner of 11 v Winner of 12

These are the documents entries will require for the competition.

Bidmead Rules

Player Handicap Table v2.0 - 26th Jan 2020

Scoresheet (PDF - 15KB)

To view and print PDF files you will require Adobe Reader.

Get Adobe Reader

Player Eligibility
Players must have played at least three league fixtures for their current registered team in the 19/20 season before they can play in the competition. Players can be issued a handicap number once they have played the qualifying number of fixtures. Any team playing an ineligible player will forfeit all matches in which he/she played.

Two-player Teams
If a team only has two players divide the sum of the two handicaps by two to get the team handicap. Each match against the 'dummy' 3rd player will end 44-0. If both teams have two players the match between the 'dummy' players will end 0-0. One-player teams are not permitted.

History of the Bidmead Cup

The Bidmead Cup is the DDTTA's club competition run on a handicap basis.

Brian Bidmead was a founder member of the Didcot & District Table Tennis Association. He held every office on the committee except Chairman and played for BRSA. At the 1977 AGM BRSA decided that they would like to donate a cup in recognition of his services to the association. Mick Norris suggested a competition with rules such that all players would be eligible but leading players discouraged. To be achieved with an inter-club knockout on a handicap basis. Each club would nominate 5 or 6 players from which 3 would play in a match.

The first Bidmead competition was held in the 1977/78 season and was fittingly won by BRSA who beat Letcombe. Over the years the competition rules have altered several times, but it remains an interclub handicap competition. Brian Bidmead died in 1999 aged 69.